Make Ahead Breakfast Omelettes

If you are looking for recipes that you can make ahead of time and freeze try the homemade taquitos, chicken nuggets, breakfast casserole, or any of my crockpot meals.

makeaheadomelettes7

I saw a few of these recipes on pinterest, and Jeremy was getting bored of his breakfast shakes. He is so busy at work that sometimes he doesn’t eat lunch until later in the afternoon. We were trying to figure out a way to get him a solid breakfast without having to cook something every morning. It was his idea for me to try to make these. He loves them! They are so good and easy! I got ideas from coleensrecipes and homesteading mom.

All you need is your favorite toppings for omelette’s. Ours are mushrooms, bacon, and breakfast sausage. The best way to do it is use leftovers from breakfast on the weekend or something else you’ve cooked. This morning we made breakfast before church and just made extra mushrooms, bacon, and sausage for me to use today in the omelette’s. When you have already cooked the filling it makes this very quick.

Need:

  • favorite toppings (i.e. mushrooms, bacon, sausage, spinach, ham, etc etc etc)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup of your favorite cheese
  • 11 eggs
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 1 tsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

Grease the muffin tin with pam (Spray A LOT in each tin). Place all of your toppings in the muffin slots.

makeaheadomelettes

Add cheese- however much you want!

makeaheadomelettes2

Whisk 11 eggs, baking powder, vegetable oil, and milk. You can add salt and pepper to taste. Pour the mixture into each muffin tin.

makeaheadomelettes3makeaheadomelettes4

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes. Make sure they are completely baked or it doesn’t come out pretty 🙂

makeaheadomelettes9

makeaheadomelettes6

**Update 6/15/13- You can make these in a mini muffin tin, too. They are so cute– think about for a bridal or baby shower. They are bite sized! 🙂

makeaheadminiomelettes2 makeaheadminiomellettes1

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Eat. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Make Ahead Breakfast Omelettes

  1. Anonymous says:

    Can these be frozen?

    • Yes! I make them ahead of time and freeze them in ziplock baggies. Just put them in the fridge the night before or put them on the defrost mode when you are heating them up in the microwave.

  2. tashanik says:

    These look and sound awesome. I’m going to have to try making some. Thanks for the recipe as well as the idea!
    Have a nice day
    Nat

  3. Anonymous says:

    Just made them. Will try them out tomorrow.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Do you cook the sausage first?

  5. Anonymous says:

    This is a neat idea! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. Anonymous says:

    Made these this morning…delicious! Thanks 🙂

  7. Christina says:

    *about* How many calories are these?

  8. Brittany says:

    Do you know how many carbs each omelette contains?

  9. Pingback: Low carb recipes breakfast - No Carb Low Carb Gluten free lose Weight Desserts Snacks Smoothies Breakfast Dinner...

  10. Emily says:

    Have you tried using cupcake liners? Just wondering if that would make it easier to get out of muffin tin and transport when taking them to group to share.

  11. Jen Ainsworth says:

    My boys wanted something different for breakfast, so I made them with bacon tonight! Thanks for the great idea! Also, low carb for me!

  12. Caitlin says:

    How long do you microwave them to reheat?

  13. Anonymous says:

    About how many does this recipe make? Especially if I use the mini muffin pans?

  14. Anonymous says:

    Is this recipe possible without using the cheese?

  15. JNC says:

    Is this recipe possible without using the cheese?

  16. Michelle says:

    Has anyone made this without baking powder?

  17. Awesome just what the doctor ordered for the troupes yum and so cheap to make.

  18. Gweny says:

    How long do you cook them in the mini muffin tin?

  19. Devon says:

    I’ve got these in the oven right now! They sound easy and delicious and just like what I’m craving!
    I used 10 eggs instead of 11 and that still filled up each little cup and there was a little left over, heavy cream instead of milk, a roll of Jimmy Dean regular breakfast sausage that I “sauteed” some mushrooms in while it was cooking, crumbled bacon (from a bag), and shredded cheddar cheese. I’ll let you know how it goes, and I think it’s going to go very well!!

    • Devon says:

      YES!! These are incredible!! So easy that even I can make them, and my husband really likes them. It’s also great that they’re easy enough and portable enough to eat without a plate (we’re very on-the-go people).
      I wish I had followed your advice with the cooking spray though. I buttered my pan and I think the butter either melted off or mixed in, which made them tricky to get out of the pan. I ended up having to get a spoon and run it along the sides (which I’m hoping I didn’t scrape up my metal pan too badly). Either way, my husband suggested less butter, so I’ll definitely be using the spray next time.
      I also wish I had mixed the cheese in with the fillings instead of just sprinkling it on top. I LOVE cheese and I wish I had more of a taste of it.
      I know have a new favorite Low-Carb breakfast!! I will definitely be making these again and again!!

    • Awesome!!! Thanks for sharing!

  20. Heather says:

    Can u substitute anything for the baking powder?

  21. Anonymous says:

    Can these be eaten cold, or do they have to be reheated?

  22. Janet says:

    These look really good. How long to you put them in the microwave when eating them to avoid overcooking?

    • I think it depends on your microwave. I know I heated them up on defrost mode for a minute first. Then I don’t think it took longer than 30 seconds on the normal cook mode to heat it up after that.

  23. Pingback: Healthy Breakfasts for Christmas Morning - Working at Homeschool

  24. Anonymous says:

    Are these on the THM plan?

  25. Anonymous says:

    Can you use just egg whites?

  26. Eleanor Novy says:

    How do you reheat in the oven. And for how long for mini’s

  27. I just made some using Potatoes O’Brien at the bottom of my large muffin tinand then added the extras. Baked for about 30 min but I would put something underneath just in case they spill over.

  28. Savannah says:

    I have made these many times but no matter how much I spray the pan or the muffin liners they always always stick and I end up with half a muffin. Do you think I can bake this in a regular glass or dark tin baking pan and cut into squares?

  29. Amy says:

    If you make these in the mini muffin pan, how long do you cook them?

Leave a Reply

