My first furniture redo(s)!

I feel like Jeremy and I have been doing lots of “do it yourself” lately. I painted almost all of the rooms (and trim) in the house, we’re laying hardwoods, blowing insulation, etc.  I only have 2 1/2 weeks left of summer, and I still have a relatively long list of things I want to finish before going back to school.

The small table was my grandmothers! This was the first piece of furniture I have ever redone! I am VERY proud 🙂 Don’t be disappointed in me when I tell you this was Jeremy’s bedside table for 2 years. I know… 2 whole years of this in our room. And finally I got the courage to try and redo it.

bedsidetableredo1

I figured I couldn’t mess this up anymore, so I thought it was the perfect piece to experiment on.

I got paint stripper and sprayed it on the whole piece. I scraped the paint off with a putty knife, but that only worked for the top of the table since it’s the only flat part. I tried to get the rest off with steel wool, but it didn’t really come off that well. I sanded the top of the table then stained it Minwax dark walnut 2716. After that I painted the bottom with Valspar’s Oatlands Subtle Taupe. I only did one coat because when I was done some of the paint was still showing through, and I thought it looked exactly what it would look like if I painted another coat and then sanded some parts down. SO I am lazy and have left it with one coat to give it the “antiquey” look.

bedsidetableredo2 bedsidetableredo3

Isn’t it pretty?!

bedsidetableredo4

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

After I did the side table I got excited and took on a mirror and dresser.

redomirror1 redomirror2

I took off as much paint as I could and then sanded the mirror down by hand. I painted it 2 coats of Valspars Oatland Subtle Taupe. I sanded off a few areas for the antique look.

redomirror4 redomirror3

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

redodresser8

Here is the piece I am most proud of!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 This was my great grandmothers dresser, and I think it’s beautiful!

redodresser1 redodresser2

I took off all of the hardware and sanded down the whole piece. I stained the top with Mixwax Dark Walnut 2716. I painted the rest of the piece with Valspars Oatlands Subtle Taupe. The hardware is from Home Depot.

Voila!

redodresser4 redodresser6

Before and After

redodresser7

This entry was posted in Enjoy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first furniture redo(s)!

  1. CampClem says:

    stunning transformations! love them! well done!!

Leave a Reply

