Squash and Zucchini “Chips”

s&zchips3

I can’t believe I haven’t ever put these on here. I put the chips in quotations because there are recipes out there that truly make crispy zucchini/squash chips. This isn’t necessarily those. They are still crispy and yummy, but not quite to the extent of chips. You still have a little softness involved.

When I was little I told my mom that I was allergic to squash. I thought that she believed me, but I really think she just chose to fight her battles. I never liked how squishy it felt and always hit my gag reflex on the way down. These “chips” are so tasty, yummy, and easy! I’ll be surprised if your kids try to tell you that they are allergic to these. πŸ™‚

What you need:

  • Squash
  • Zucchini
  • Salt
  • Olive Oil

I normally fill up a normal baking sheet with 3 total squashes and zucchinis (so this is 2 zucchinis and 1 squash). Wash and slice into skinny pieces. Put down aluminum foil and spray a good bit of olive oil PAM on it. Place the slices next to each other on the cookie sheet.

s&zchips

Spray a good bit of olive oil PAM again and sprinkle salt (you can also use normal olive oil, but this is less caloric). Bake at 425 for 15-30 minutes depending on how thick your slices are and how crunchy you want the “chips.” The reason I recommend aluminum foil is because sometimes these babies get stuck, and it’s a whole lots easier to throw away foil then scrub your cookie sheet.

s&zchips2

Enjoy!

s&zchips4

This entry was posted in Eat, Side Dishes/ Appetizers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Squash and Zucchini “Chips”

  1. Ellen says:

    Love your blog! Are you from Jackson? I am…so just wondering! Your recipes are great for my family:)

Leave a Reply

